+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Eight years smoking, two days clean!

twitter

•    Sponsored Offer - Insurance Required

Drug-Rehab-Treatment

Default Eight years smoking, two days clean!

Soooo.... I've been smoking pretty much daily for nearly eight years. Typical story I suppose. Started with friends, social thing. Then we were doing it all the time. Then I dropped out of Uni and found myself with three or four folks and we just smoked, and smoked, and smoked, and I reckon convinced ourselves we were really close friends. Then it happened, I found myself smoking alone (even though I always used to say, the moment you smoke by yourself, you're hooked) but it was always rationalised. I never really accepted I was addicted.

Then something happened in me four years ago, I had a major nervous breakdown, deep depression, but I never connected it to smoking. Panic attacks followed, severe anxiety, I really thought I was dying. I was put on antidepressants and somehow managed to function again (but quickly came OFF the anti-D's, were causing more trouble than good, dangerous things, quit them cold turkey somehow, I was on a serious dose, doctor was amazed but I do feel I was just lucky...) But I still smoked.... a LOT. And it's not really until a year and a half ago when I developed wheezing when exercising I really thought.... shit, what am I doing to myself. Also, my parents found out my habit, my friends, and I smoke a lot with my brother (who I never really had a relationship with before we smoked pot together) and also I all of my close friends smoke.